This week, the Connecticut Health Committee passed a bill they hope will ban teens from tanning beds. The state senate and house still need to pass the bill before it becomes state law. Nationally, anti-tanning bed regulations have increased significantly over the past decade due to rapidly increasing skin cancer rates and new studies on the negative health effects of indoor tanning.
Also in the news this week, New Jersey officially signed their teen tanning bed ban into law. Now, no one under 17 years of age will be able to use a UV tanning bed. Curious where your state stands?
Tanning bed legislation in the U.S.
- 5/2/2012, Vermont became the second state to ban indoor tanning for those 18 years and younger.
- 10/9/2011, California became the first state to prohibit indoor tanning for children under age 18.
- As of today, over 30 states restrict indoor tanning use by minors.
National Conference of State Legislatures Indoor Tanning Laws for Minors (July 2012)